Key Stage 3 reporting

Y7 & Y8 Reports

This year has seen the introduction of a new system of assessment across Years 7 and 8 in all of the schools within our Trust. This structure was developed by the Trust’s schools working in partnership to develop a method of reporting that would support the individual progress of every student, and communicate this clearly to parents and carers. By working together this also enables our family of schools to share expertise and standardise student work effectively across subject areas.

In their last report Years 7 and 8 children will have received three grades:

1. Progress:  P+/P/P-

This indicates whether they are making:

–          More than expected progress (P+)

–          Expected progress (P)

–          Less than expected progress (P-)

This grading system provides a clear indication of how well they are progressing in each individual subject. At Parents’ Evenings, by looking in your child’s workbooks or by contacting their individual teacher you should be able to see what has contributed to this progress picture in terms of the work they have completed in class and at home, and any assessments they have done.


2.Current Indicator of Attainment by the end of Y11

This measure is intended to give you a broad indication of how well your child could achieve at the end of Year 11, based on everything we know so far. This is in line with the new 9-1 scale for GCSE grades with 9 being the highest grade and a 4 being broadly equivalent to the current C grade. From 2017 the Government has indicated that a ‘good’ pass will be defined as a 5 on this new scale.

We use information from a range of sources including CATs tests, performance in their KS2 SATs, Progress tests in English, Maths and Science and most importantly, the progress they are making in their class work and internal assessments to provide this indication.

There is obviously a long way to go from Year 7  to Year 11, so this is a guide only, and not intended to be a fixed or definitive destiny. The indicators will be reviewed at each assessment point as teachers get to know your child better, and a greater range of evidence is accumulated with which to assess their potential. Some subjects where students will not have had as much exposure to subject specialism – such as Art, Music, Sport and Drama – and which are not as closely linked to test performances, will change more regularly and rapidly as staff see more subject-specific evidence of your child’s potential in these areas. As an example, if your child is regularly receiving a P+ in any individual subject, then you should expect to see their Current Indicator (CI) move up.

Key Stage 4 Reporting

The majority of GCSE subjects in 2018 will be awarded on the new scales of 1 to 9, 9 being the highest award.

For each subject in years 9,10 and 11, you will be given 3 indications of how well your child is currently doing. If the CPP matches the MTG then you are on target to meet that grade:

A Current Performance Predictor (CPP) :  The current prediction of your grade at the end of Year 11. This is based on how you are currently working in that subject and any assessments you may have taken so far.

A Minimum Target Grade: 

ATL: Attitude to Learning. This will be based on your aptitude as a Learner and how well you are demonstrating learning behaviours in lessons and with any independent work you are set.

A Progress grade.  The progress grade is based on the progress you are making in that subject currently. This will be based on the work you have produced in your book, your progress in lessons and marks from assessments.

5 Rs

A 5R grade – these grades give an indication of the learning attributes, behaviours and attitudes demonstrated in lessons by your child and are assessed on the same scale from Y7-11. They stand for Responsible, Resourceful, Resilient, Reflective and Respectful.They are a best fit grade assessed by looking across each of the 5R learner attributes and are based on the 5Rs grid which can be found in the student planner.

The 5R grade is split into 2 categories: Independent Learning attributes which are Reflective and Resourceful and Resilient and Attitude to Learning attributes which are Respectful and Responsible. Definitions are given here:

5R Attitude to Learning Independent Learning Descriptors.

At Swavesey we believe in developing our students so that they become resourceful, respectful, resilient, reflective and responsible learners who are confident to take risks and who develop strong positive relationships to support their own learning.