Governance and Academy Council

Cambridge Meridian Academies Trust is a Multi-Academy Trust established by the Swavesey Village College on 1st April 2011.

The focus of the Cambridge Meridian Academies Trust is upon:

·         The strategic direction of the Trust as it responds to local and national demands and policy;

·         Efficiency and effectiveness of executive leadership and services across the schools;

·         Standards and achievements across the Trust’s schools.


Whilst the Trust is the employer of all staff, it has delegated powers to the Local Governing Bodies (Academy Council) to exercise governance arrangements for the academies within the Trust.

The Academy Council is focused upon the individual school contexts, monitoring standards and achievement and their local community needs and aspirations.

·         Setting strategic priorities and plans

·         Monitoring standards and achievement within the school

·         Ensuring Trust policies are implemented

·         Engaging with all stakeholders to improve outcomes

·         Supporting and positively challenging practices within the school, through the School  Leadership Team.

Academy Council


 Category Name
 Trust appointed Chair (Acting) Liz Bush
Vice Chair (acting) Dave Hackshaw
 Trust Appointed – Community Representative Nick Wright (Councillor)
 Associate member Martin Campbell
 Trust appointed Claire Thorne (Child Protection Champion)
 Parent Elected Erica James
 Trust appointed Liz Bush
 Trust Appointed Martin Dixon
 Trust appointed Marie-Louise Patwardhan
 Trust appointed Sonia Hegan
 Headteacher Jim Stavrou
 Trust appointed Melanie Pankhurst



Any correspondence to the Chair of Academy Council should be addressed: C/o Graham Whiting, Clerk to the Academy Council, Swavesey Village College, Swavesey, Cambs CB24 4RS.
Please open the document attached below to see further details on the structure of our new Academy Council and their roles.